St Georges Annual Awards – 2015/16

The St Georges Annual Awards Presentation was held on the morning of Sunday, 2nd October at the club rooms. This was followed by the christening of the new quad, named for the club President , Mike Harrison.  

Due to the uncooperative weather we weren’t avail to race the planned 500 meter sprints, however there was an good turn out and everyone enjoyed the presentations and excellent breakfast.




Hilton Jackson Memorial

Best Club Spirit

Gregor MacKenzie

Gregor is an active member of the St Georges rowing club.  Gregor supports Glendowie boat maintenance, parent and steering committees, regattas and camps.  He is an integral part of our club and extends his assistance to others.

Gregor helps Glendowie College, Edgewater College and on occasion Macleans College and the Masters with boat loading and truck driving to and from Regattas.  This often involves time off work, arriving first and leaving last.

Philson Cup

Most Improved Male Rower

 Zak Everitt

 Zak has progressed from school rowing with Glendowie to rowing for Auckland RPC and NZ under 21s this year.  With his RPC partner, he achieved silver in both the premier lightweight double and premier lightweight Bankstream National championships. More recently he was a member of the nz u 21 men’s eight that won against Australia at the trans Tasman series on 8 September

 Zak has set a precedent of rowing for and representing St Georges when rowing for RPC , so his achievements this year have been a significant not only for him, but have also brought recognition to  St George’s club!

Mt Wellington Cup

Most Improved Female Rower

Imogen Stythe

Imogen has grown over this season both in skill as a rower and maturity.  She was not selected for Maadi Cup last season and has worked hard to improve her performance, achieving two silver medals at Maadi Cup this season.

Rowsell memorial cup

Coach of the Year

Josh Schmidt

Josh Schmidt successfully navigated a challenging year as his first season with Glendowie College.  He has successfully established himself as a competent coach and leader, growing both participation numbers and positive club culture.  Josh was instrumental in GDC winning 5 medals at Maadi as well as the Top Auckland School Award. 

The Twesley Cup

Junior Coach of the Year

Bradyn Watson


Has shown a positive attitude and makes all sessions enjoyable for the girls he coaches. Bradyn keeps a calm and considered demeanor in stressful situations and gives confidence to his crews. He also utilises technology to provide technical feedback to the kids outside of rowing sessions.

Commodores Mug

Cox of the Year

Meg Rolton

Meg has coxed 2 boats to medal at Maadi Cup during the past 2 seasons with Glendowie College.  Her commitment to her crews and her success has given her the opportunity to trial above her age group with the Blues program where she was selected in the top 2 coxswain.

C.E.Stone Memorial Cup

Most Dedicated Crew

Carolyn Harrison, Yvonne Kasper & Alison McLeod

This group of masters ladies train in the clubrooms most mornings and have been doing do every week all year long for years. They can hold a 3 minute plank alternating from one hand to the other – not bad for women over 60 years old!